Supervisory board

The Supervisory Board oversees the course of activities within KWH in the name of the shareholders – Dutch and Flemish water companies. It does this with an eye to the general interest of society, which KWH upholds. The Board consists of five members who, on the basis of their personal backgrounds and thanks to their valuable networks, help determine our course.

The Supervisory Board of KWH consists of the following members:

Lambert Verheijen
Chair, member Governance Committee
Lambert Verheijen (M, 1954, NL) was, until his retirement, chair of the Aa and Maas water board and was as such chair of the General Board and the Daily Board. Mr Verheijen was appointed from 1 July 2019 until 1 July 2023, and reappointed until 1 July 2027.
Other relevant positions:

  • Member of the Supervisory Board of Koninklijke Smals N.V.
  • Member of Q-team ‘Brainport Smart district’
  • External committee member Council for the Environment and Infrastructure (until 1 May 2023)
  • Chairperson focus group Windmolenpark Duurzame Polder
Marlies Sikken
Member, chair Audit Committee
Marlies Sikken (F, 1976, NL) works as an independent director and supervisor, and she is currently the director of the Krammer Wind Farm (since 1 April 2021) and the director of SmartPort (since 13 June 2022). Ms Sikken was appointed on 1 July 2022 until 1 July 2026.
Relevant additional positions:

  • Chair of the Supervisory Board of Kwintes
  • Member of the Supervisory Board and the audit committee of the Nationaal Ouderenfonds
Arjen van Tunen
Member, member Audit Committee
Arjen van Tunen (M, 1958, NL), retired, was CEO of Keygene N.V. until 15 June, 2023.  Mr. Van Tunen has been appointed from 1 July 2020 until 1 July 2024.
Other relevant positions:

  • Board member FoodValley NL
  • Mentorship several AgriFood Startups
  • Arbitrator ACLP (Agricultural Crop Licensing Platform)
  • Strategic consultant at Rijk Zwaan
Renée Bergkamp
Member, deputy chair, Chair Governance Committee
Renée Bergkamp (V, 1959, NL), retired, was provincial secretary and Managing Director in the province of North Holland from November 2016 to May 2023. Before that, she was Director of the Vewin for three years. She has also held various positions as Director and Director-General at the Ministries of Justice and Security, LNV and EZK. Ms Bergkamp was appointed on 1 July 2022 until 1 July 2026.
Other relevant positions:

  • Chair of the Board of SKAL
  • Chair of the Supervisory Board of the Voedingscentrum (Nutrition Centre)
  • Member of the Board of the Dutch Milk Foundation
  • Independent Chair of StAK-ADW-CBS
  • Member of the Advisory Board of the Animal Sciences Group of the WUR
  • Member of the Supervisory Board of Energie Beheer Nederland (EBN)
  • Chair of the Water for Life Foundation
  • Council for the Environment and Infrastructure (Rli) council member


Supervisory Board Regulations 2020
Regulations KWH Governance Committee 2020
Retirement rota SB KWH as of 1 July 2024
Regulations KWH Audit Committee 2020
Profile KWH Supervisory Board 2020